Who Knew – Homemade Pancake Syrup

I follow a really good blog at http://www.onegoodthingbyjillee.com.  Today Jillee shared a recipe for homemade pancake syrup. I figured it couldn’t be that easy so I had to try it.

Bring a cup of water to a boil in a saucepan.

Add 1 cup of brown sugar and 1 cup of white sugar and stir until the sugar is dissolved. Remove from heat and let it cool. That’s all.

This tastes exactly how I expect syrup to taste. Exactly.

Jillee also added 1/2 teaspoon of Mapleine maple flavoring. I didn’t have any and I don’t feel it needs it. Someone who commented on the recipe on her blog said he used vanilla extract instead of Mapleine and it was even better. This is great for me since some of the added ingredients in store bought syrups don’t agree with my body. I used dark brown sugar. I think if I used light brown sugar the flavor of the syrup would be milder. If you don’t have brown sugar but you do have molasses, use 3 tablespoons of molasses per cup of white sugar, mashed together with a fork, to make brown sugar. For light brown sugar use just 1 1/2 tablespoons of molasses per cup of white sugar.

Who knew?

One comment

Leave a Reply

