Is It True? – Selling Your Long Hair

In the summer of 2012 I was selling stuff. I wondered about selling my hair so I searched the internet. I looked for wig companies that might buy my hair, and none of them would.

So I wondered: if the wig companies don’t want to buy my hair, where do wig makers get the human hair they use?

I found out they get it from religious ceremonies in which Hindus have all their hair cut off, leaving it in the temple. As many as 25,000 people a day sacrifice their hair at temples in India. The temples collect it and sell it to a wholesaler and use the money to help the poor.

I found articles that made it sound as if there is a big demand for hair, with prices in the hundreds to thousands, but where if not wig companies?

I looked for auction sites and found some. There were several sites showing hair for sale with high final bids over a thousand dollars!

www.buyandsellhair.com is an auction-style online site for selling hair. The ad cost me $14.95 for 90 days. To sell your hair on this site you need at least 10 inches that can be cut off. You need up to four good pictures, including ponytail shots to show the thickness, to upload to your ad posting. If you have used no chemicals or dyes you can advertise your hair as “virgin” hair. Some of the ads mention that they take vitamins and eat a healthy diet. Some say they never use heat such as blow dryers or curling irons on their hair, and wash their hair just a couple of times a week. (Apparently daily washing can weaken hair.) Some mention their ethnicity, or that their hair lives in a non-smoking home.

I listed my 25 inches of virgin wavy auburn hair at $500 or best offer. As described in the “Scams” section on the site, several responders were clearly all set to cheat me. Thanks to the warnings on the site, I knew to accept only www.paypal.com payments and to ship by my choice of shipper, not theirs.

I began to get emails. One said, would you be willing to go to a buzz cut?

Why do they care? I’m offering X inches of hair. I didn’t answer that one.

Another said: you’ll get more for your hair if you let the buyer cut it.

Why? Any pro can cut off long hair for sale. I asked, what if they aren’t local?

He replied: the buyer will travel to you or pay travel expenses.

That could be a lot of money – it makes no sense. I stopped responding to that one too.

So I searched more deeply and learned that there is a paraphilia in which fetishists get off on watching a woman’s hair cut off very short, sometimes with her pretending to resist the cut. Buyers who want to watch or video the cut, or meet you somewhere and cut it themselves, are probably fetishists. That’s what the larger payments are for.

In the end I did sell my hair on buyandsellhair.com for $125 to someone who wanted hair, not a hair cutting experience. I know of one person who sold her hair on eBay, to a doll maker. Another sold to an artist making his own human hair brushes.

My experience with trying to sell my hair was what got me started with questioning everything I always assumed about saving and earning money and of course everything I see on the internet. I did my best to test anything I could that I put into my book.

Some things sound great in an article on the internet or in a magazine. Then when you go to do it, it turns out to be more complicated. The folks who write articles are not always given the time and the budget to fully check out everything they’re saying. I learned to take it with a grain of salt and compare it to common sense and my own experience. I use search engines to find out more about the things I read.

.

2 comments

    1. It was one of the more interesting experiences I had that year. I kind of expected Criminal Minds or Law and Order SVU to have covered every fetish there is, but they missed this one!

Leave a Reply

