Learn a Language for Free – Duolingo

I enjoy learning a new language, but I don’t know many languages well because I lack the self-discipline to stick with it. My high school French has been of little use to me because I’m never around anyone who speaks French. I know the usual food words and “hola” in Spanish. Sadly, I can cuss or call names in six languages, but I’m fluent only in English.

Something that helps with sticking with it is www.duolingo.com. They send me an email every day reminding me to come back and learn some more. The format is kind of game-like, so I think I’m playing, but it’s also a sound way of learning. I do better when I not only hear and say it but also read and write it, and Duolingo.com has all of that. So far I’m finding the amount of repetition to be just enough so I finally catch on and not so much that I get annoyed with it.

At present they offer Latin American Spanish, French, German, Brazilian Portuguese, and Italian courses for English speakers, as well as American English for Spanish, French, German, Portuguese, Italian, Dutch, Russian, Polish, Turkish, and Hungarian speakers. It is available on the Web, iOS, and Android platforms.

.

Leave a Reply

