Oven Cleaning – Take the Door Off

This year for the first time in my life, I cleaned the oven. Previously, my oven cleaning strategy had been to just move. In 2013, for the oven cleaning section of my book, I enlisted an experienced friend to help me test out the homemade oven cleaner recipe. This time I did it on my own.

Combine one cup salt, one cup baking soda, a squirt of dishwashing liquid, and enough water to make a paste. The dish liquid cuts grease and the salt and baking soda are coarse and fine abrasives. Slather it on, let it sit, and scrub.

The thing that made it easy was using a pumice stone for scrubbing. It’s much faster and easier than any other scrubbing tool. Then follow with a green scrubby for the finer points.

Even easier, take the door off. I didn’t know until I researched it for my book, the oven door comes off! Open it a little, to the point where it will stay on its own, then pull upward, and off it comes. I perched on a low stool, and with the door out of the way it was easy to reach the inside to scrub and rinse.

The door goes back on easily if you line it up straight with the metal thingys you’ll see as soon as you take the door off. They fit into slots in the door.

A big thing for me was the realization that with the door off, cleaning up spills as they happen is almost as easy as wiping the stove top. I don’t have to wait for the oven to be all icky before I put some baking soda on a sponge and wipe up whatever spilled. Wiping out the oven could easily be part of the weekly kitchen cleaning.

 

 

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

