52 Weeks to Effective Use of Money – Heat

By now, it’s cold in most places north of me. It seems odd to be posting about heating when I’m sitting in front of a fan, but here we go. A clip from the book:

Dress for it

“I grew up in southern and western New York State, with lake effect snow and sub-zero days. I remember dressing in layers to keep warm in winter. Keeping your head covered has a major impact on keeping body heat in. It makes sense to wear head covering even indoors if you are keeping the heat low. There’s a reason old-time people wore nightcaps to bed. I made a little headscarf out of the front of a pink T-shirt. I tried it on in summer and ripped it off within five minutes because it made me too hot. In winter, it will be great.

I’ve lived in the South for over thirty years, so I no longer have cold weather clothing. On our rare cold days, I wear first a tank top, then a long sleeve shirt, then a short sleeve shirt. I wear lightweight slacks under heavier slacks, and warm socks. For reading or napping, I also get under a blanket on the couch.

When feel a need to turn the heat on, I walk on the treadmill for a few minutes until I start to feel warm again. If no treadmill is handy, you could alternate physical home chores with resting activities to keep from getting too cold from sitting still.”

Wearing the clothes you’ve already got costs so much less than setting the heat warmer.

 

 

 

Marie Brack is the author of Frugal Living for the 21st Century: Adventures in Using Your Money Wisely. It’s available on Amazon.com in both Kindle and paperback versions.

Leave a Reply

