Memorize a Phone Number!

I’m probably not the only one who relies on the Contacts list in my cell phone. When my previous phone suddenly and completely stopped working, immediately I didn’t have any of my contacts!  That experience taught me to keep a paper or Word document copy as well. I have some phone numbers on paper in my purse, too.

But what if you aren’t at home, and don’t have your paper copy with you? If you were stranded, a business might let you use their landline, but phone books are rapidly going out of style, and your friends’ cell numbers wouldn’t be in a phone book anyway.

I recently found out third hand that if you get arrested, they may not let you use your own cell phone. Once your phone is booked into their property hold, your contacts are gone with it. (Yes, I know you don’t plan to get arrested. It’s rarely a plan, and unexpected things can happen with traffic stops.) All those people you might have called are suddenly not available to you.

Who would come and bail you out? Who could come and get you if you were stranded? Better yet, who would call everyone you know until someone could help?

Memorize at least one person’s phone number.

Leave a Reply

