52 Weeks: Clothing – the Closeted 80%

Supposedly most people wear 20% of their clothes 80% of the time. That seems likely to me. There’s always an outfit that’s the most comfortable, or makes you feel like you look good. There will be garments that would be great if they were just a little bigger or smaller. If it didn’t itch around the neck. If it was the right length, made of a different material, or matched anything else.

A few years ago I made it my mission to stop wasting 80% of my clothing spending. When I find a garment that’s the right size, fit, and material, I buy one of every color. My current wardrobe seems diverse, but when you look closely, each of the ten tops are the same style and brand. Because they are different colors and patterns, the casual observer thinks they’re different. The three black slacks and three tan slacks will go with all the tops. And voila, I’m dressed and ready with no decisions to make. There’s also no nagging guilt over neglected clothes that I spent money on but never wear.

I put clothes away at the left side and wear them from the right. If a shirt or slacks lingers on the right side of the closet, I know there’s some reason I haven’t wanted to wear it. Maybe it’s time to alter it. Buy something that will go with it. Or donate it. Perhaps demote it to the cleaning cloth basket.

 

 

Marie Brack is the author of Frugal Living for the 21st Century: Adventures in Using Your Money Wisely. It’s available on Amazon.com in both Kindle and paperback versions.

https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_2?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=marie+brack

Leave a Reply

