Mama Needs New Shoes, Discounted

A few years ago, I needed new shoes, so I signed up for Payless Shoe Source’s email newsletter. Shortly after I signed up, they sent me a 10% off coupon. I decided to wait a while. A week or two later they sent a 20% off coupon. I thought I’d go pretty soon. Then they sent an email coupon for 30% off. I went the next day to a nearby store, but the shoes I needed were out of stock. So they gave me a slip for $4 off, to make up for having to go to another store. The next morning I went to that other store. Lo and behold, they were marked down from $40 to $17. Between the mark down and the two discounts, I paid a grand total of $9.70 for my new shoes. The clerk told me that they send different coupons and offers by snail mail than by email. So I signed up for that too.

 

 

Marie Brack is the author of Frugal Living for the 21st Century: Adventures in Using Your Money Wisely. It’s available on Amazon.com in both Kindle and paperback versions.

https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_2?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=marie+brack

Leave a Reply

