52 Weeks: Home Remedies – Got Stones?

I found out by trial and error that a tablespoon of vinegar (any kind) in about a half cup of water or juice helps gallstones to pass. An infected gall bladder can be life threatening. If the condition doesn’t clear up with this first aid, or if you have fever or severe or continuous pain, it’s time to see the doctor.

Drinking diluted vinegar got old fast. I tried adding sugar and didn’t care for it, likewise Stevia. Adding a teaspoon of honey worked for me. Vinegar also isn’t too bad in original V-8 juice. When taken in a few ounces of Sprite Zero, it tastes like ginger ale with a kick. I take this every day to keep the stones from getting stuck.

Also helpful is fresh ginger root, which stimulates the liver. I add peeled and sliced gingerroot to my green tea. I use a piece about the size of the end section of my thumb for each mug. You can also buy ginger in capsules at the health food store.

 

I had pains that matched the Internet description of kidney stones. I know people who have gone to the hospital with kidney stone pain. The hospital couldn’t actually do anything about the stones, only about the pain. [In some cases, they can use ultrasound to break up large stones.]

I searched around online and found a discussion site where people said that their pain stopped when they took vinegar three times a day. I already took a tablespoon of vinegar each morning for gallstones. I started taking it three times a day, mixed into V-8 juice. The pains dropped off over 90%. Yay for vinegar! If you eat many salads, vinaigrette dressing is another good way to get your dose of vinegar.

 

 

Marie Brack is the author of Frugal Living for the 21st Century: Adventures in Using Your Money Wisely. It’s available on Amazon.com in both Kindle and paperback versions.

https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_2?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=marie+brack

Leave a Reply

