Home Remedies: Hot Flashes

Estroven, a non-hormonal over-the-counter menopause aid, all but stopped the annoying hot flashes I had. The name brand at one grocery store near me costs $21. The Walmart Equate brand is only $7. For me it worked just fine. I bought the one that is also a multiple vitamin. That way I didn’t spend additional money on vitamins separately.

My own experience is that is does matter what I eat. The more vegetables I eat, the fewer symptoms I have. Dairy foods and grains, especially wheat, seem to make hot flashes worse for me. A friend told me that drinking alcoholic beverages made her hot flashes worse. Spicy foods and caffeine may also aggravate the problem.

Parsley and celery are said to help limit hot flashes. A friend of mine used parsley and said it worked great for her. When Estroven seemed to stop working for me, I bought a large amount of dried parsley from the bulk jars at the health food store. I started adding some to just about everything–omelets, rice, stew. Within two weeks, I had almost no hot flashes. I don’t know why, but there it is. At first, I thought I would need to eat large amounts of parsley, but a teaspoon in a meal is enough.

Black cohosh supplements from the health food store have also worked for people I know. Others have told me that as menopause goes on, what works for you may change. What works this year may not work later on. So I stand prepared to be flexible.

 

 

Marie Brack is the author of Frugal Living for the 21st Century: Adventures in Using Your Money Wisely. It’s available on Amazon.com in both Kindle and paperback versions.

https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_2?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=marie+brack

Leave a Reply

