52 Weeks: Electricity – Zombies and Vampires

Those little lights on appliances are telling you that they are sucking electricity like tiny vampires even when the item is turned off. They’re still active when dead, like zombies. One source estimates that about 5% of our national energy use is for these items.

I have my TV, digital antenna, laptop, and Internet modem on a power strip, which I turn off at night. I didn’t know until now that my cell phone charger is pulling watts even when the phone isn’t plugged into it and even though there’s no little light. Oops. The same applies to anything that recharges a battery-operated gadget, such as power tools, cordless hand vacuums, Roomba, cameras, music players.

My Roomba’s instructions said to leave it on the charger all the time. I guess some zombie power drain is the price I pay for having a cleaning robot standing by to do my dirty work at the push of a button. (When my Roomba stopped working, I bought a Swiffer.)

As part of writing this part of my book, I did a room-by-room tour of my home. I looked for electricity uselessly draining away at my expense. In the bathroom, I noticed that the A/C adapter plug of the lighted makeup mirror felt very warm. This is using electricity all the time, for an appliance I use only minutes a week. I unplugged it. The treadmill! Besides the magnet-operated power switch on the console, there’s a switch down at the base, and yes, a glowing light. So, I’ll turn it off at the base from now on.

Leave a Reply

