Sticking Points

Two points in the day can give a working person trouble: getting dressed for work, and knowing what in the world is for supper when you get home. In both cases, it’s not the action, it’s the thinking about it and planning that can cause difficulty.

When I was especially busy at work I used to hang a week’s worth of outfits in the closet complete with undergarments and accessories. Any morning, all I had to do was grab one and put it on. The underpinning of this system is that I had to do laundry or at least assemble outfits every weekend. That was easy enough and saved me indecision and delay on a work morning. 

The what’s for supper problem is similar. On the weekend, or during a boring meeting, or if evening TV isn’t holding your attention, sketch out a week’s worth of main meals and write down what you need to make them. Saturday, or whenever works for you, buy all that. Having written down what to make and bought the ingredients, all you have to do when you get home is review the list of meals and make one. 

I used to buy Chicken Tonight dinner sauces and pour them over a baking dish of chicken pieces and frozen vegetables, with maybe instant rice or cubed potatoes. Forty-five minutes in the oven while I changed clothes or helped with homework or whatever, and supper was ready. 

 

 

 

Leave a comment